Posted by: The Red Shoe Girl | May 25, 2011

Shooting the dress


I’ll preface this by saying that I am not a fan of “bridals”.  I’ve never really been able to grasp the concept of a bridal portrait (or multitudes of them) decorating every horizontal surface at a reception.  Most of the people we’ve invited to the wedding are reasonably (or unreasonably) intelligent.  I figure they can work out for themselves who the bride is.

Having said that, we decided, for the sake of posterity and just because it was one heck of a lot of fun, to drive out to the salt flats and get a few shots of me in *the dress*.   We were hoping it was late enough in the year that the salt flats would be at least semi dry.

They weren’t.    My brother waded out a few feet and the water  was to his knees.  Awesome.

Just to prove we could we did a shoot anyway.  No. I didn’t wade out in my dress.

We had no intention of using that umbrella.  The wind was blowing at about 9,000 mph.  We found it in the car and improvised.

The reason the wind is not blowing so hard here is because I am standing next to a wind blocking structure.  That structure was a large, brick-walled men’s restroom.  Insert potty joke here.

Grey sweater. Also not a planned element of the shoot.  But I was so cold my hands and arms were turning blue.

(These are for my Grandma.  Love you Grandma!)

Leave a Reply

Categories

